# Alternative Educational Academy of Ogemaw County Board Meeting Minutes From June 13, 2022

9:11 Call to Order by Tina Williams

#### **Roll Call**

Board Present: Lisa Bolen, Mark Berdan, Joe Perrera, Ben Doan

Staff Present: Tina Williams, Jeff Hutchison

Guests Present: Shawn Petri

# Additions to Agenda:

None

## Approval of Agenda:

Motion by Lisa Bolen; Second by Mark Berdan to approve agenda as presented Motion passes 4-0

## Approval of Minutes from May 9, 2022:

Motion by Ben Doan; Second by Mark Berdan; to approve the minutes. Motion passes 4-0

#### **Discussion Items:**

- a. Staffing was discussed; Denise Leibold, Wendy Tuttle, and Stacie Jones will be recommended for hire at the IRESA board meeting. AEAO has a posting for a part-time receptionist, 16 hours per week on Mondays and Fridays.
- b. Current enrollment was discussed; WB-RC (41), WP (18), Other (61)/total 120
- c. The enrollment process was discussed; No concerns at this time.
- d. Graduation was held on June 1<sup>st</sup>, 12 grads participated in the ceremony. Lisa Bolen suggested future discussion on AEA scholarships and post-secondary training support for grads. Mark Berdan suggested the possibility of a Career Navigator to assist AEA students in post-secondary planning and training.

### **Action Items:**

a. Motion by Joe Perrera; Second by Lisa Bolen to approve the 2021-2022 Final Budget Amendment

Yeas: Doan, Bolen, Perrera, Berdan

Nays: None

Motion passes 4-0

b. Motion by Joe Perrera; Second by Ben Doan to approve the 2022-2023 proposed budget

Yeas: Doan, Bolen, Perrera, Berdan

Nays: None

Motion passes 4-0

c. Motion by Lisa Bolen; Second by Ben Doan to approve the 2022 Charter Contract with C.O.O.R. ISD.

Yeas: Berdan, Perrera, Bolen, Doan

Nays: None

# Motion passes 4-0

Next meeting: August 8, 2022 9:00 a.m. at Michigan Works

# **Community Input**

Shawn Petri noted that the Charter Authorizer meeting with MDE went well, Tina prepared documents that addressed their recommendations.

# **Board Comments**

None

Adjourned at 9:42 a.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Tina Williams